When a comedian has to do the job of a church (LAST WEEK TONIGHT : John Oliver)

Standard

I’ve posted my thoughts and outrage with the prosperity gospel several times. Whether in person, through social media, or even this very blog before. Usually my well meaning “can’t we all just get along” brothers and sister find issue with my issues against this vile cancer that has attached itself to the church. In some regards, I understand the sentiment. “Why focus so much on what divides us?” Which is true when the issue at hand is simple or harmless enough. However this is not the case with the prosperity gospel. It is false, it is contrary to scripture, and it takes advantage of those whom our Savior says we should be looking after. In my mind, this is the most important thing the church needs to do more of. We need to distinguish ourselves against the televangelist prosperity teacher, and we need to do as Paul instruct Timothy and guard our lives and our doctrine, and call out the wolves when we see them. I have stoked these fires before and I will continue to do so, but maybe a different voice would be useful. Please watch and share the video below from Last Week Tonight

As fantastic and as true as this video is, it exposes exactly what needs to me removed from the body of Christ, it also represents a sad day when a television comedian is doing the work that the church should be doing, and should have been doing all along. How can our churches be a refuge of the truth if they are not properly guarded from evil lies? Brothers and sisters this much change. I hear many a preacher say that we need to be bold in the face of the changing culture, and not collapse or shrink back, we should proclaim the message of the cross even louder! Friends, the culture will never here our message if we can’t even keep the filth out of our sermons and out of our pulpits.

Leave a comment